Tuesday, August 4, 2015

Advertise with us »

February 28, 2012 - 1:18pm

Big Ten Conference honors announced Monday night


At 7 p.m. on Monday, the Big Ten Network hosted a 30-minute show announcing the coaches and media picks for All-Big Ten Women's Basketball Teams, as well as Player of the Year, Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year.

Though there were no members of the Michigan women's basketball team on the first, second, or third teams, junior center Rachel Sheffer was part of the Honorable Mention team selected by the coaches.

Senior guard Courtney Boylan and junior guard Jenny Ryan were a part of the Honorable Mention team selected by the media. Sheffer was also included on this list.

Ryan was also included in the All-Defensive Team, as one of the five best defensive players in the conference. She led the Big Ten in steals per game with 3.1.

Each team also gave out a Sportsmanship Award and Boylan received that honor for the Wolverines.

Ohio State senior Samantha Prahalis earned Player of the Year honors, Minnesota's Rachel Banham was named Freshman of the Year, and Penn State's Coquese Washington was honored as Big Ten Coach of the Year.